Douglas County Water Quality Fund

The deteriorating water quality in many Douglas County lakes is obvious. This is caused by multiple factors; increased pollution from a variety of sources, aquatic invasive species, overdevelopment and others. This sounds overwhelming but we can make significant improvement.

An Ad Hoc committee representing Douglas County Soil and Water Conservation District, Doulas County Land and Resources, Douglas County Commissioners, Nature Conservancy, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources and Douglas County Lakes Association began meeting in October 2017. In November 2018 the Douglas County Water Quality Legacy Fund
(WQLF) was finalized. This is a 501c3 organization, able to accept public and private donations. It will be administered by the West Central Initiative in Fergus Falls and will be led by the Douglas County Lakes Association.

The fund will be used primarily to provide the 25% match required by water quality grants received from the State. Some of these projects can cost hundreds of thousands of dollars making the 25% match significant.

The WQLF advisory board includes County Commissioner Jerry Rapp, Alexandria Mayor Sara Carlson, DC Soil and Water Conservation District supervisor Mike Cleary, Dean Beck from the Glenwood Fisheries, Leah Hall of the Nature Conservancy, President of the Alexandria Chamber of Commerce Greg Bowen, John Ledermann representing Douglas County Corn and Soybean Growers and two members of the Douglas County Lakes Association Boards; Gene Rose and Steve Henry.

We look forward to meeting with all Lake Associations and other public groups to further explain our goals with the fund. We are also soliciting monies for the fund and ideas for water quality projects. Working together we hope to improve water quality in Douglas County.

Steve Henry, President, Douglas County Lakes Association

Advisory Board

Leah Hall

Headwaters Project Coordinator, The Nature Conservancy

Dean Beck

Area Fisheries Supervisor, MN DNR at Glenwood

Jerry Rapp

Douglas County Board of Commissioners

Sara Carlson

Mayor, City of Alexandria

Mike Cleary

Douglas County Soil & Water Conservation Supervisor

John Ledermann

Douglas County Representative for Minnesota  Corn Growers Assn

Greg Bowen

President, Alexandria Chamber of Commerce

Steve Henry

President, Douglas County Lakes Association

Gene Rose

Vice President, Douglas County Lakes Association

Scroll to Top